Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the details … Sydney Opera House


Sydney Opera House Roof Detail

One of the world’s most recognizable structures, the Sydney Opera House at Bennelong Point on Sydney Harbour is a marvel of design and engineering.

My focus for this week’s photo challenge “Lost in the Details” is the Opera House’s amazing ceramic tile roof.

There are 1,056,006 roof tiles covering an area of approximately 1.62 hectares that sit over the structure. They were made by a Swedish tile company, Höganas.

Sydney Opera House Ceramic Roof

The highest roof shell of Sydney Opera House is 67 metres above sea-level, the equivalent of a 22 storey building.

Sydney Opera House Detail

The roof structures are commonly referred to as “shells.”

Sydney Opera House

Click here for the complete and intriguing story behind the construction of Sydney Opera House.

Thanks for visiting …

Dorothy 🙂

*

Copyright Aimwell CreativeWorks 2013

Shout Outs

Diamond Mike Watson

Thoze Were the Daze

Multifarious Meanderings

22 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the details … Sydney Opera House

  1. I have always wanted to see the Sydney Opera House… this may be as close as I ever get. It’s beautiful and I would have never seen that detail. Thank you.

  2. Lovely details on this iconic structure! I used to spend time whiling away the day at the little oyster bar on the steps of Opera House – thanks for bringing back good memories from 20 years ago.

    Cheers,

    Chris

    • Thank you for checking out my post. I’m glad to have brought you some sweet memories, one of the amazing miracles of photography. 😉 … I’m really impressed with your nature photography. Looking forward to seeing more … Be well, Dorothy 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details | 2013 Weekly Photo Challenge Blog

  4. Pingback: WPC Tibet | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost In The Details | Flickr Comments

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – “Lost in Details” – Finding My ‘Special’ Shine – | Just another wake-up call

  7. Wow, I must have seen photos of the Sydney Opera House a million times and I’ve never seen a close-up of the roof tiles. What a surprise. They’re fascinating.

    • Yes, it was quite a revelation to me the first time I saw them gleaming so brilliantly in the sun. Perfection of line and symmetry and artistry. That’s why I felt compelled to capture some of it. … Thanks for visiting … Dorothy 🙂

  8. Pingback: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 9, 'Lost in the Details']. | 3rdculturechildren

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the details … Sydney Opera House | WEB REVEALED

Leave a comment